TBR Spring Cleaning (Part 2 of 4)

This is the second installment of me going through a speedrun of my Goodreads to-read shelf and decide which books I will keep and which I will let go. If you want a better (or maybe just longer) explanation of what this is about, you can check out this post.

Last time, I let go of 17 books. I have not yet removed them from my Goodreads to-read list so I won’t get confused as to where I’m at in the list, but as of now I should be at 178 books.

I find it interesting how as I go through the books I’d sometimes be in a very ruthless mood, leaning towards letting go of books, while sometimes I’d be more willing to keep books in the list. I’m as moody as ever, I realize. Well, we’ll see where I land at in this round. Time to start!

Books I am keeping

  1. Anna of Byzantium by Tracy Barrett
  2. Tempus by Tyra Lynn
  3. Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction by Carrie Ryan (editor)
  4. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
  5. Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey
  6. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
  7. Anathema by K.A. Tucker
  8. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  9. The Professor by Charlotte Brontë
  10. Daimon by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  11. The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa
  12. Just One Day by Gayle Forman
  13. Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway
  14. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  15. Mind Games by Kiersten White
  16. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
  17. The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski
  18. Hunting Lila by Sarah Alderson
  19. Jessie Hearts NYC by Keris Stainton
  20. Malice by John Gwynne

Books I am letting go

  1. Trust Me by Rachel Hawthorne
  2. Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer
  3. While Galileo Preys by Joshua Corin
  4. Unremembered by Jessica Brody
  5. Covet by Melissa Darnell
  6. A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley
  7. The Truth About Celia Frost by Paula Rawsthorne
  8. The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller
  9. Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber
  10. Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
  11. Remembrance by Michelle Madow
  12. Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins
  13. Now May You Weep by Deborah Crombie
  14. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
  15. Little House on the Rocky Ridge by Roger Lea Macbride

I noticed some things during this round of going through my TBR list. One, a nicely written blurb or description can reel me in and be the thing that makes me keep a book on my list. This is what happened to Kushiel’s Dart. Another is that ratings can push me to one side or another if I’m really undecided. It’s a good reference at times when I really have nothing going on for a book. I also found that I am probably a little pretentious with the way I have a slight bias towards older, more classic books (note the several classic books I kept). Lastly, if an author has really made a mark on me, I might not even have to read the blurb to keep their book on my list. This is what happened to that Gayle Forman book I kept. It’s like they have some goodwill established with me already, and that makes me want to give more of their works a chance.

I also had varying moods over the several different days I went through this list: sometimes I don’t have that much care and could easily let go of a title, while for others even the barest hint of curiosity would make me keep the book.

So, for this round, I let go of 15 books and kept 20, which leaves me at a total of 158 books kept. I’m not mad at this, and I look forward to going through the rest of the titles on my shelf.

Do you have any titles in the lists above that you wish I’d kept or maybe let go? Let me know and see you in the next round!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.